top of page

Easter Holidays & Good Vibes

So the first blog went well, I think it was a success and I believe there were a few people that read it and I have had positive feedback from it - happy heart! There is just so much that I want to write about, and in time I will! I wanted to write another blog before the Easter Holidays to share with you of what I would like to do with my kids over these holidays and perhaps it will inspire some of you to try and do the same.

Before I start though, I want to just put it out there that I am in no way the perfect parent - is there such a thing? As a parent I believe we are all in the same boat trying our best to raise these little warriors that each have a mind of their own. There is no right way and there is no wrong way of parenting. Unfortunately there was no book given to you on the day your child was born telling you exactly what your child was going to be like and step-by-step instructions on how to do everything. I think most of the time our children are actually teaching us! Just remember that each child in this world is unique and has their own individuality and that is very important.

So our first term is over and we now have two weeks of a wonderful break of school routine - I have always loved the school holidays - no waking up at 5.30am to prepare lunches and no fetching and carrying the whole day, time to unwind and just relax. However, in the past, I was always trying to plan something for the girls to do everyday so that they were always busy and had fun and I have now come to realize that they depend on this. They are always expecting to go somewhere and do something everyday. So this has got me thinking that kids actually need to be bored, they need to sit and wonder what they can do, they need their imaginations to work and not have us as parents entertain them the whole time. I bet you that after a little boredom you will find them playing something that they have thought up all on their own.

Did you know that daydreaming for kids is actually really good, it is where the mind is actually thinking and becoming creative. How often do your kids get to daydream? When you daydream, nothing is impossible. When you daydream you tend to dream big, and you end up working harder to make your dream become a reality. Think about this........Albert Einstein used his powerful imagination to develop the theory of relativity - parents, let your children be bored and daydream, it is not a bad thing! I am not saying that you now need to stay home all day and let your children daydream and drive you nuts with their boredom, once again MODERATION is key here!

Now I move onto one of our projects that we will be doing over these holidays and it is something that I would like for you to think about. KIDS TOYS - we buy them, we spend a fortune on them, they love them and then they sit on the shelf and collect dust! How many toys have you purchased for your children that lights up and maybe sings or does something like flip over and it cost you and arm and a leg? I know that I have done this, it is the latest craze and they absolutely must have them - so what do we do? We buy them, and let's be honest with ourselves here - where are those toys now? Did those toys mentally stimulate your child's brain? Did your children learn anything from these toys? So here is my project, - we are going to sort out our toy room - and trust me there are a lot of toys collected over the years in this room. We are going to have four boxes.........

.1) THE KEEP IT BOX,

2) THE BROKEN TOYS BOX/CHUCK IT BOX

3) THE DONATE IT BOX

4) GOING TO GRANNIES HOUSE BOX.

We are going to have a complete clean out of these toys and the toys that we have not played with in months can either go to Granny for when we go play there or be given to a child who would love to play with this toy. The broken toys can be chucked! The keep it box, and this will be hard, as I am sure there will be tears and fights and debates over the keep it box will be for toys that are treasured and played with all the time. I am then, in the future when purchasing more toys for my girls, decide how much this toy will educate my child, will they learn anything from this toy, will this toy last them - is this toy worth the money being spent on it!

So in a nutshell folks some advice for you to use or not use:-

- Let your children be a little bored this holiday - it will not kill them, it will allow them to use their imaginations.

- Have a toy clean out day, it is good for the soul and you will probably find that they will find some toys that they have not played with in a while and will be entertained for a few hours.

- Give your child a big cardboard box and let them create something with this - I am sure you can find one at a local supermarket, get involved if you can and make it fun.

- Do spend some time with nature - go to the beach, forest, park and smell those flowers and smell the ocean, keep your child grounded by staying connected to mother earth!

And that is the sum total of this blog for now - I am going to try to become "tech free" this holiday and spend as much time with my children as possible. I am wishing all of you who have read this blog a very blessed Easter with your family and loved ones.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page